Wage and Hour Division (WHD)

Dollar Threshold Amount for Contract Coverage

Dollar Threshold Amount for Contract Coverage Under State Prevailing Wage Laws January 1, 2011

Historical Tables

Table of Dollar Threshold Amounts for Contract Coverage Under State Prevailing Wage Laws

STATE ¹	THRESHOLD AMOUNT
Alaska	\$ 2,000
Arkansas	75,000
California	1,000
Connecticut	400,000 for new construction
	100,000 for remodeling
Delaware	100,000 for new construction
	15,000 for alteration, repair, renovation, rehabilitation, demolition, or reconstruction
Hawaii	2,000
Illinois	None
Indiana	150,000
Kentucky	250,000
Maine	50,000
Maryland	500,000
Massachusetts	None
Michigan	None
Minnesota	25,000 where more than one trade is involved
	2,500 where a single trade is involved
Missouri	None
Montana	25,000
Nebraska	None
Nevada	100,000
New Jersey	2,000
	14,187
	50,000 – aggregate cost for maintenance and repair
New Mexico	60,000
New York	None
Ohio	78,258 for new construction 2/
	23,447 for remodeling 2/
Oregon	50,000

Pennsylvania	25,000
Rhode Island	1,000
Tennessee	50,000
Texas	None
Vermont	250,000
Washington	None <u>3</u> /
West Virginia	None <u>4</u> /
Wisconsin	25,000 <u>5</u> /
Wyoming	25,000

Footnotes:

- <u>1/</u> Eighteen States do not have prevailing wage laws. These States are Alabama, Arizona, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Iowa, Kansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, New Hampshire, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Carolina, South Dakota, Utah, and Virginia.
- **2/Ohio**. Beginning January 1, 1996, and every two years thereafter, threshold amounts will be adjusted according to the change in the U.S. Department of Commerce, Bureau of the Census Implicit Price Deflator for Construction, provided that no increase or decrease may exceed 6 percent for the two-year period.
- <u>3/</u> **Washington**. A separate law applicable only to State college/university construction provides for a \$25,000 threshold amount.
- <u>4/</u> **West Virginia**. A \$50,000 threshold is applicable for projects of the West Virginia Infrastructure and Jobs Development Council.
- **5/ Wisconsin**. For those contracts in which local governments are responsible for a minimum funding of at least \$1,000,000 in a private enterprise dominated project, then the prevailing wage rates would apply to the entire project no matter how much private funding is responsible for of the total cost of the project.

States Without Prevailing Wage Laws

Alabama - repealed in 1980

Arizona - invalidated by 1980 court decision Repealed in referendum in 1984

Colorado - repealed in 1985

Florida - repealed in 1979

Georgia -

Idaho - repealed in 1985

Iowa -

Kansas - repealed in 1987

Louisiana - repealed in 1988

Mississippi -

New Hampshire - repealed in 1985

North Carolina -

North Dakota -

Oklahoma - invalidated by 1995 court decision

South Carolina -

South Dakota -

Utah - repealed in 1981

Virginia -

Division of Communications Wage and Hour Division U.S. Department of Labor

This document was last revised in December 2010.