

RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT COUNCIL

Growing Alaska Through Responsible Resource Development

January 22, 2010

Senator Lesil McGuire, Co-Chair Senator Bill Wielechowski, Co-Chair Senate Resources Committee Alaska State Legislature, State Capitol Juneau, AK 99801

RE: HB 162-An Act to Establish the Southeast Alaska State Forest

Dear Senators McGuire and Wielechowski:

The Resource Development Council (RDC) is writing to support HB 162, the establishment of the Southeast Alaska State Forest.

RDC is a statewide, non-profit, membership-funded organization founded in 1975. The RDC membership is comprised of individuals and companies from Alaska's oil and gas, mining, timber, tourism, and fisheries industries, as well as Alaska Native corporations, local communities, organized labor, and industry support firms. RDC's purpose is to link these diverse interests together to encourage a strong, diversified private sector in Alaska and expand the state's economic base through the responsible development of our natural resources.

The bill would establish a new state forest in Southeast Alaska from state lands presently used for timber harvest. The Division of Forestry would be able to manage the state forest for a long-term supply of timber to local processors, and retain the land in state ownership for multiple use. The forest would be managed as part of the State Forest System and under the current Prince of Wales Island and Central Southeast area plans.

In Southeast Alaska, demand for state timber exceeds supply and local mills are dependent on a consistent supply to stay in business. The majority of the timber in Southeast Alaska is on federal land, but federal timber sales have declined sharply. Subsequently, the demand for state timber from local mills has increased significantly.

Much of the proposed forest was inherited from the U.S. Forest Service with young second-growth stands. There is broad support for shifting timber harvesting in Southeast Alaska from old growth to second growth stands. Establishment of the Southeast Alaska State Forest will help provide a sustainable timber supply to local mills and accelerate the harvest of second-growth timber. Actively managed second-growth stands will provide more timber volume per acre on shorter rotations.

The shift to second-growth harvesting can be accelerated and timber volume increased on state land by thinning these stands. However, thinning is a long-term investment and is only justified if the land will continue to be available for forest management. A legislatively designated State Forest would ensure that land would remain available for long-term forest management.

RDC encourages your committee to support HB 162. Thank you for the opportunity to provide comments on this important legislation.

Sincerely,

RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT COUNCIL For Alaska, Inc.

Carl Portman Deputy Director

Founded 1975
Executive Director
Jason W. Brune
2009-2010 Executive Committee
Wendy Lindskoog, President
Phil Cochrane, Sr. Vice President
Stephanie Madsen, Vice President
Tom Maloney, Secretary
L.F. "Len" Horst, Treasurer
Bob Berto
Patty Bielawski

Marilýn Crockett
Steve Dentou
Eric Fjelstad
Jeff Foley
Stan Foo
Paul Glavinovich
Erec Isaacson
Tom Lovas
Dale Pittman
Ethan Schutt
Lorna Shaw
John Shively
Tiel Smith
Scott Thorson
Cam Toohey
Directors
Greg Baker
Dave Benton
Jason Bergerson
Allen Bingham

Dan Britton Dave Carey

Patrick Carter

Dave Chaput

Steve Connelly
Bob Cox
Allan Dolynny
Paula Easley
Ella Ede
Mark Eliason
Joe Everhart
Carol Fraser
Dan Graham
Chuck Greene
Scott Habberstad
Mark Hanley
Karl Hannema
Rick Harris

Tom Henderson

Paul Henry
Becky Hultberg
Teresa Imm
Bill Jeffress
Mike Jungreis
Frank Kelty
Kip Knudson
Thomas Krzewinski
Linda Leary
Carri Lockhart
John MacKinnon
Mary McDowell
Ron McPheters
James Micry

Kon McPheters
James Mery
Denise Michels
Lance Miller
Mary Nelson
Lisa Parker
Judy Patrick
Charlie Powers
Ralph Samuels
Keith Sanders
Kenneth Sheffield
Keith Silver
Jeanine St. John
John Sturgeon
Dan Sullivan

John Zager

Ex-Officio Members

Senator Mark Begich
Senator Lisa Murkowski
Congressman Don Young
Governor Sean Parnell