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Ignition
interlocks can
help decrease
the number of
drunken
drivers.

Devices are
more accu-
rate and less
susceptible to
tampering.

State ignition
interlock laws
vary.
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Ignition Interlock Devices: Starting Your Engine Sober
By Anne Teigen

Alcohol-impaired driving fatalities still account for 32 percent of all U.S. traffic deaths. An estimat-
ed 11,700 people were killed in alcohol-impaired crashes in 2008, an approximate average of one
fatality every 45 minutes. Impaired driving remains a significant public safety issue, and legislators
are considering such tools as ignition interlock technology to decrease the number of drunken
drivers.

Ignition interlock devices are installed in motor vehicles to prevent them from being started if al-
cohol is detected on the driver’s breath. Most devices require periodic retesting while the car is run-
ning to ensure that the driver is not drinking once the car is started. Technological advances have
made ignition interlock devices smaller, more accurate and less susceptible to tampering. Many
courts include the use of devices when sentencing DUI offenders. During sentencing, an offender
whose driver’s license has been suspended or revoked may be granted limited driving privileges if
an ignition interlock device is installed. About 146,000 ignition interlock devices currently are in
use in the United States.

State  State ignition inter-
Action [ock laws vary greatly.
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District of Columbia have some
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B Court has discretion to require ignition interlock installation
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interlock law.

In 2005, New Mexico became
the first state to require ignition
interlock devices for all convicted drunken drivers, including first-time offenders. As of December
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2009, Alaska, Arizona, Hawaii, Louisiana, Nebraska, New Mexico, New York, Utah and Washing-
ton had passed legislation to require ignition interlock devices for all convicted drunken driving
offenders. New York’s law takes effect in August 2010, and Hawaii’s law is effective in January
2011.

Three states address interlocks for first-time offenders with certain qualifications. Colorado’s igni-
tion interlock law is not mandatory for first-time offenders. The law provides strong incentives to
use ignition interlocks by allowing first-time offenders’ license suspension to be reduced from nine
months to one month if an interlock is installed. Illinois requires first-time offenders to have in-
terlocks installed unless an offender chooses in writing not to do so. Arkansas allows discretion to
issue an ignition interlock license to a first-time offender.

In 2009, 32 states considered some sort of ignition interlock legislation, and two passed pilot pro-
grams. Minnesota’s program—available to all DUI offenders—is administered by the Minnesota
Department of Public Safety, Driver and Vehicle Services. The program allows first-time and re-
peat DUI offenders to regain driving privileges if they participate in the pilot program. First-time
offenders must use an ignition interlock device for one year, after a 15-day license suspension. Sec-
ond- or third-time offenders must use the device for a year and six months after a 30-day license
suspension. The pilot project began July 1, 2009, and will end June 30, 2011. The commissioner
must submit a final report to the Legislature by Sept. 30, 2011, evaluating the pilot project, in-
cluding information on participation rates, and recommending whether to continue an ignition
interlock program. California’s pilot program requires interlocks for all DUI offenders in four
counties. The DMV must report to the Legislature on the pilot program's effectiveness in reduc-
ing the number of first-time DUI violations and repeat offenses.

Virginia modified its ignition interlock law in 2009, making it a Class 1 misdemeanor for anyone
required to have an interlock installed to operate a vehicle without the device. Convicted drivers
also are subject to license revocation. Many other states are revising their laws to provide penalties
for offenders who violate ignition interlock laws.

Effects of state laws. Research shows that installation of these devices reduces recidivism by be-
tween 50 percent and 90 percent. A Maryland study of repeat offenders showed that interlock
program participation reduced the risk of committing an alcohol traffic violation within the first
year by 65 percent. A 2002 Illinois study found offenders who used ignition interlock devices
were 20 percent less likely to be re-arrested for a DUI during the first year, compared to offenders
who did not install the device. The installation rate of ignition interlocks is key in determining a
law’s effectiveness. Approximately 1.4 million drunken driving offenders are arrested and convict-
ed each year, yet only 10 percent of convicted DW1I drivers ordered to install an interlock device
on their vehicle have done so.

Federal In preparing to reauthorize the surface transportation program (SAFETEA-LU), Con-
Action  gress is considering provisions that would require states to enact and enforce ignition
interlock laws. In the provisions under debate, states would have to enact mandatory ignition
interlock laws for all those convicted of driving while intoxicated and require the device to be in-
stalled for at least six months for the first offense. States would lose a percentage of highway main-
tenance funds for failing to pass such laws. The bill was introduced in December 2009.
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