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SEXUAL ASSAULT AND DOMESTIC VIOLENCE
Sectional Analysis

Sections 1 and 2 correct an error made in 2007 when the legislature enacted AS 11.56.759, that
adopted a class A misdemeanor if a sex offender violates specific conditions of probation or
parole. One of the requirements of the crime is that the person have served the entire period of
incarceration imposed for the crime. This is effective for probationers, but not for parolees,
because a person is never on parole if he or she has served the entire period of incarceration. A
member of the Parole Board brought this issue to our attention, because the statute has caused
problems for the board in dealing with parolees. These sections remove parolees from the statute.

Section 3 rewrites AS 11.56.840, failure to register as a sex offender in the second degree. The
proposal is similar to current law, but it sets out the elements more clearly. The section also
adopts an affirmative defense that unforeseeable circumstances outside the control of the person
prevented him or her from registering, and that the person contacted the Department of Public
Safety immediately upon being able to do so.

Section 21 on page 11 of the bill adopts in uncodified law the legislative statement that the
culpable mental state of knowing only applies to the sex offender or child kidnapper know that he
or she is required to register. In the original version of the bill this provision was in the
substantive part of the statute.

Section 4 would raise a form of harassment in the second degree (that is, with intent to harass or
annoy another person, the person subjects the other person to offensive physical contact) to
harassment in first degree if the offensive physical contact is by the offender touching the other
person’s genitals, anus, or female breast. Harassment in the first degree is a class A misdemeanor;
the second degree offense is a class B misdemeanor. There have been prosecutions recently
involving offensive touching that occurred so quickly that the court concluded that the victim did
not have time to convey lack of consent to the offender. The court reduced these charges from
sexual assault to harassment in the second degree. This conduct is more serious that a class B
misdemeanor; the bill would raise it to a class A misdemeanor.

Sections 5, 6, and 7 address a problem with Alaska law prohibiting possession of child
pornography that was raised by a recent decision of the Alaska Court of Appeals, Worden v. State,
213 P.3d 144 (Alaska App. 2009). Worden held that our current statute does not prohibit a



person from viewing child pornography on a computer; rather, the statute requires that the person
must also save it on the computer to be considered to possess it. In response to this decision, the
bill adopts the federal approach. It prohibits possession of child pornography, and it also prohibits
a person from knowingly accessing child pornography on a computer with the intent to view it.

The bill adds to the child pornography law the prohibition of the depiction of a part of a child
under 18 years of age that by manipulation appears to be engaged in conduct prohibited by AS
11.41.455(a). It also would prohibit material that appears to include a child under 18 years of age
(often referred to as anime pornography) if the material is obscene.

Section 8 proposes an affirmative defense to possession of child pornography that is similar to
federal law. The affirmative defense would address a situation where a person finds child
pornography on their computer, and did not obtain it themselves. The defense requires that there
are three or less depictions, and the person, without showing the material to another person except
law enforcement, destroys the depictions or contacts law enforcement and turns it over to them.

Section 8 also adopts a definition of the “appears to include a child” for purposes of the
prohibition of anime child pornography that references a definition of obscene.

Sections 9, 10, 11, and 12 amend the crime that prohibits the electronic distribution of indecent
material to minors by expanding the offense to prohibit any form of distribution of indecent
material to minors, in addition to electronic distribution. It also adds a new element of the offense
that the state must prove that requires the material to be harmful to a child. Whether the material
is harmful to a child is defined in Section 12, that defines that term.

Section 13 adds the crimes of human trafficking in the first and second degrees, distribution of
child pornography, possession of child pornography, and distribution of indecent materials to
minors to the crimes that are not eligible for a suspended imposition of sentence.

Section 13 also includes an amendment that removes “substantially” when describing a crime in
another jurisdiction that may be a predicate conviction that would disallow the use of a suspended
imposition of sentence for other offenses. This conforms with other statutes that require that a
predicate offense in another jurisdiction be only similar to an offense in Alaska. Examples
include AS 12.55.145(a) (presumptive sentencing), AS 11.41.320(a)(5) (third degree assault), and
AS 11.41.110(a)(5) (murder in the second degree).

Section 14 adds to the conditions of probation that may be imposed on a person convicted of a sex
offense. It gives the court discretion to order the person to submit e-mail addresses and other
networking addresses to his or her probation officer, who would be required to give this
information to the Troopers and to the local law enforcement agency. If the person was convicted
of sexual abuse of a minor or an offense related to child pornography, it gives the court discretion



to prohibit the person from using an Internet site, communicating with children under 16 years of
age, Or possessing or using a computer.

Section 15 amends the aggravating factor at sentencing that allows the court to increase a
sentence above the sentencing range if the defendant knew that the victim was particularly
vulnerable. It does this by adding the consumption of alcohol or drugs as factors that might make

a victim particularly vulnerable.

Section 16 adds two new aggravating factors to the sentencing law. First, it allows the court to
increase a sentence above the sentencing range for a crime against a person (AS 11.41) committed
against a person that the defendant was dating or with whom the defendant has engaged in a
sexual relationship. Second, it allows the court to increase the sentence if the defendant is
convicted of sexual abuse of a minor or distribution of indecent material to minors if the
defendant is 10 years or more older than the victim.

Sections 17 and 18 add a new provision to sex offender registration law that requires a person
present in Alaska, who is convicted of an offense out of state that requires registration in that
jurisdiction, to register in Alaska. This requirement would apply even if Alaska does not have a
criminal provision similar to the crime in the other state that requires registration there. A person
would have to register for 15 years if convicted of only one offense, and for life if convicted for
two or more offenses.

Section 19 authorizes the attorney general, in the investigation of online enticement of a minor,
unlawful exploitation of a minor, and child pornography crimes, to issue a subpoena to an Internet
service provider if there is reasonable cause to believe that the Internet service account has been
used in the exploitation or attempted exploitation of children. The subpoena may require the
provider to disclose the name, address, telephone connection records, and other information about
the account. Other than use in the criminal case related to the subpoenaed materials, the
information obtained must remain confidential.

Section 20 amends Rule 16(b), Alaska Rules of Criminal Procedure, by adding a prohibition of
copying or otherwise reproducing child pornography as part of the discovery process in a criminal
prosecution. The material must still be available for inspection for the defendant, defense counsel,
and any person the defense may seek to qualify as an expert witness at trial. Federal law has a
similar provision. 18 U.S.C.A. § 3509(m).

Section 21 provides a legislative statement that in a prosecution for failure to register as a sex
offender, the state is not required to prove a culpable mental state for the conduct of not
registering. The state would be required to prove that the defendant knew he or she was required
to register as a sex offender.

Sections 22 and 23 include applicability and effective date provisions.



