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STATE OF ALASKA

January 15, 2010

The Honorable Mike Chenault
Speaker of the House

Alaska State Legislature

State Capitol, Room 208
Juneau, AK 99801-1182

Dear Speaker Chenault,

- Under the authority of Art. ITI, Sec. 18, of the Alaska Constitution, I am transmitting a bill that
provides Alaska law enforcement and other agencies the resources needed to prevent sexual assault
and domestic violence crimes in Alaska. Sexual assault and domestic violence crimes destroy
individuals and families, eroding the foundation of a just society. Alaska’s challenge is to stop child
pornography, sexual assault, and sexual abuse of minors in addition to ending the cycle of domestic

violence.

Alaska’s criminal laws concerning domestic violence, sexual assault, sexual abuse of a minor, and
child pornography are strong. However, a few changes would improve prosecution of these
offenses. The bill will adopt a class A misdemeanor for offensive touching that does not arise to
sexual assault in the first, second, or third degree. It will also adopt a class C felony, the offense of
knowingly accessing child pormography on a computer, and extend the prohibition of distributing
indecent material to a minor to all forms of distribution.

The bill provides that a person convicted of human trafficking, possession, or distribution of child
pornography may not be given a suspended imposition of sentence. It will specify conditions of
probation for child predators that allow a court to forbid the defendant from using a computer or

internet site, and prohibit contact with children.

The bill will give the courts more discretion in sentencing defendants. Specifically, it will allow a
court to increase a person’s sentence above the usual sentencing range if the defendant knew that
the victim was particularly vulnerable as a result of having consumed alcohol or drugs. It will also
allow an increased sentence if the crime is a felony and is committed against a person whom the
offender is in a relationship of trust, such as dating or sexual relationship, or the offense involves a
defendant who is 18 years of age or older and has sexual contact with a minor under 13 years of age.

Sex offenders and child kidnappers required to register elsewhere should not be able to move to
Alaska and avoid registration. The bill will make it mandatory for a registered sex offender or child
kidnapper from another state to register in Alaska when the intention is to live in Alaska. This would
apply even when Alaska docs not have a substantive law that is similar to the crime the person

committed.
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Finally, the bill protects victims of child pornography from being victimized or traumatized by the
pre-trial discovery process in a criminal prosecution. While it allows the pornographic material to be
inspected by the defendant, defense counsel, and experts the defense may use, copying the material
would be prohibited and required to remain in the possession of law enforcement.

I urge your prompt and favorable consideration of this bill.

Since

Sean Parnell
Governor
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