Over the years, more and more states are requiring optometrists to hold an optometry
license at the highest level. In fact, effective January 2010, optometrists in the state of
Oregon must be licensed at the highest level to even practice optometry. The chart
below is a survey of states showing the movement among states to require licensees
meet the highest educational requirements.

Initial and Renewal License Requirements to

Seek/Maintain Highest Level

Last Revised January, 2010

Can an applicant for initial
licensure (could be a new grad
or someone coming from another
state) apply for a license other
than one at the highest level of
prescriptive authority authorized
in your state?

Can a licensee within your
state holding an active
license drop “down” to a lower
level license at renewal or other
time (i.e., they hold a TPA
license, but now only want a
basic or DPA-only license)?

STATE:

Alabama NO YES
Technically, yes. We hope to tighten
up the wording of our law so that
this cannot happen. We have had
one instance of this with a licensee
who was about to retire. He asked to
lower his licensure status to non-
therapeutic for the few months he
planned to practice. We could find
nothing in our law that prevented
this. He saved $110!

Alaska YES YES

2010 Legislation is aimed at 2010 Legislation is aimed at
changing this to No. changing this to No.

Arizona NO NO

Arkansas NO Yes, under health reasons and
maybe has retired, but still wants to
keep their basic licenses. The cost
difference is $50

California

Colorado NO NO

Connecticut

Delaware NO NO

D.C.

Florida NO NO

Georgia NO NO

Hawaii

Idaho NO NO

Illinois NO NO

All licensees had to upgrade to the
highest level by 2007
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Indiana YES YES
Our applicants apply for an
optometry license and if they are
going to be prescribing,
administering, or dispensing legend
drugs then they can obtain an
optometric legend drug certificate. It
is not mandatory to obtain the
legend drug certificate.

Iowa NO NO
We have no definite rule but would
probably be denied.

Kansas NO NO

As of May 31, 2010, everyone must As of May 31, 2010, everyone must
come in at the highest level. be at the highest level.

Kentucky

Louisiana NO NO
Must be TPA to practice in the state.

Maine NO NO

Maryland

Massachusetts NO NO

Michigan

Minnesota

Mississippi NO NO

Missouri NO NO

Montana

Nebraska NO NO

Nevada YES NO

All new licensees come in at a DPA
level. Subsequent to licensure, they
can apply for TPA certification after
they have completed the statutorily
required 40 hour preceptorship with
an ophthalmologist. They can elect
to stay DPA. Most of those who are
only DPA are not practicing in the
state.

New Hampshire NO NO

New Jersey

New Mexico

New York

North Carolina NO AND YES NO

Beginning with the graduating
classes of 2008 from the accredited
schools and colleges of optometry
applicants will come in at the highest
level (includes injectables). Current
licensees do not have to move up to
the highest level with injectables.
North Dakota NO NO
As of 2001
Ohio NO The Ohio law does not specifically

address this issue one way or

another. The law does provide that
they MAY renew each certificate of
licensure and agents certificate. If
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someone only wanted to renew there
license and not a certificate they
would drop down to just an
optometric license but would not be
able to drop from a TPA to a DPA.
There have not been any licensees
who have dropped to a lower level in
the past 5 years. The cost for a TPA
or DPA certificate is $25 above the
annual renewal cost of $110 for just
licensure.

Oklahoma

NO

NO

Oregon

NO
As of January 2010 applicants must
be at highest level, except for
injectables authority which will
remain optional. NOTE: Over the
last five years they have had 159
applicants who have not sought
licensure at the highest level.

NO
As of January 2010.

Pennsylvania

NO & YES
New grads automatically get the
highest level of licensure. Older
grads coming in from another state
may apply for a lower level license,
but it is infrequent. The cost is the
same.

NO
They are not given that option.

Rhode Island

South Carolina NO NO
South Dakota NO NO
Tennessee
Texas NO & YES NO
An applicant from another state can
only come in as a therapeutic OD or
higher.
Utah
Vermont
Virginia
Washington NO NO
West Virginia NO NO
Wisconsin NO NO
Could until Aug 2006. Could until Aug 2006.
Wyoming NO NO

For more information contact Tracy Oman, Alaska Optometric Association, at (907) 272-2972 or

akoa@alaska.com

3




