Over the years, more and more states are requiring optometrists to hold an optometry license at the highest level. In fact, effective January 2010, optometrists in the state of Oregon must be licensed at the highest level to even practice optometry. The chart below is a survey of states showing the movement among states to require licensees meet the highest educational requirements.

Initial and Renewal License Requirements to Seek/Maintain Highest Level

Last Revised January, 2010

CTATE	Can an applicant for initial licensure (could be a new grad or someone coming from another state) apply for a license other than one at the highest level of prescriptive authority authorized in your state?	Can a licensee within your state holding an active license drop "down" to a lower level license at renewal or other time (i.e., they hold a TPA license, but now only want a basic or DPA-only license)?
STATE:	210	
Alabama	NO	Technically, yes. We hope to tighten up the wording of our law so that this cannot happen. We have had one instance of this with a licensee who was about to retire. He asked to lower his licensure status to nontherapeutic for the few months he planned to practice. We could find nothing in our law that prevented this. He saved \$110!
Alaska	YES 2010 Legislation is aimed at	YES 2010 Legislation is aimed at
	changing this to No.	changing this to No.
Arizona	NO	NO
Arkansas	NO	Yes, under health reasons and maybe has retired, but still wants to keep their basic licenses. The cost difference is \$50
California		
Colorado	NO	NO
Connecticut		
Delaware	NO	NO
D.C.		
Florida	NO	NO
Georgia	NO	NO
Hawaii		
Idaho	NO	NO
Illinois	NO All licensees had to upgrade to the highest level by 2007	NO

For more information contact Tracy Oman, Alaska Optometric Association, at (907) 272-2972 or akoa@alaska.com

T 1:	VEC	VEC.
Indiana	Our applicants apply for an	YES
	Our applicants apply for an optometry license and if they are	
	going to be prescribing,	
	administering, or dispensing legend	
	drugs then they can obtain an	
	optometric legend drug certificate. It	
	is not mandatory to obtain the	
	legend drug certificate.	
Iowa	NO	NO
		We have no definite rule but would
		probably be denied.
Kansas	NO	NO
	As of May 31, 2010, everyone must	As of May 31, 2010, everyone must
Kontucky	come in at the highest level.	be at the highest level.
Kentucky	NO	NO
Louisiana	NO	Must be TPA to practice in the state.
Maine	NO	NO
Maryland	140	140
Massachusetts	NO	NO
	140	NO
Michigan Minnesota		
	NO	NO
Mississippi	NO NO	
Missouri	NO	NO
Montana	NO.	
Nebraska	NO	NO
Nevada	YES	NO
	All new licensees come in at a DPA	
	level. Subsequent to licensure, they can apply for TPA certification after	
	they have completed the statutorily	
	required 40 hour preceptorship with	
	an ophthalmologist. They can elect	
	to stay DPA. Most of those who are	
	only DPA are not practicing in the	
	state.	
New Hampshire	NO	NO
New Jersey		
New Mexico		
New York		
North Carolina	NO AND YES	NO
	Beginning with the graduating	
	classes of 2008 from the accredited	
	schools and colleges of optometry	
	applicants will come in at the highest level (includes injectables). Current	
	licensees do not have to move up to	
	the highest level with injectables.	
North Dakota	NO	NO
	As of 2001	
Ohio	NO	The Ohio law does not specifically
		address this issue one way or
		another. The law does provide that
		they MAY renew each certificate of
	_1	licensure and agents certificate. If

For more information contact Tracy Oman, Alaska Optometric Association, at (907) 272-2972 or akoa @alaska.com

	-	someone only wanted to renew there
		license and not a certificate they
		would drop down to just an
		optometric license but would not be
		able to drop from a TPA to a DPA.
		There have not been any licensees
		who have dropped to a lower level in
		the past 5 years. The cost for a TPA
		or DPA certificate is \$25 above the
		annual renewal cost of \$110 for just
		licensure.
Oklahoma	NO	NO
Oregon	NO	NO
	As of January 2010 applicants must	As of January 2010.
	be at highest level, except for	
	injectables authority which will	
	remain optional. NOTE: Over the	
	last five years they have had 159 applicants who have not sought	
	licensure at the highest level.	
Pennsylvania	NO & YES	NO
reilisylvallia	New grads automatically get the	They are not given that option.
	highest level of licensure. Older	They are not given that option.
	grads coming in from another state	
	may apply for a lower level license,	
	but it is infrequent. The cost is the	
	same.	
Rhode Island		
South Carolina	NO	NO
South Dakota	NO	NO
Tennessee		
Texas	NO & YES	NO
	An applicant from another state can	
	only come in as a therapeutic OD or	
	higher.	
Utah		
Vermont		
Virginia		
Washington	NO	NO
West Virginia	NO	NO
	NO NO	NO NO
West Virginia		