# Alaska Legislature House Special Committee on Energy

## Rep. Charisse Millett

State Capitol Building, Room 412 Juneau, AK 99801 Phone (907) 465-3879 Fax (907) 465-2069

Rep Charisse Millett@legis.state.ak.us



# Rep. Bryce Edgmon

State Capitol Building, Room 416 Juneau, AK 99801 Phone (907) 465-4451 Fax (907) 465-3445

Rep Bryce Edgmon@legis.state.ak.us

# Sectional Analysis

House Bill 218: Creating Dept of Energy / AEA Board

#### Section 1

Deletes the Home energy conservation and weatherization program as a program eligible to receive money from the Alaska Housing Finance Corp. (See Sections 6 and 10 below).

## Section 2

Adds the Dept. of Energy to the definition of "department".

## **Section 3**

Adds the board of directors of the Alaska Energy Authority to the list of official state boards and commissions.

## **Section 4**

Moves the Alaska Natural Gas Development Authority from the Department of Revenue to the Department of Energy.

## Section 5

Adds the Dept. of Energy to the state list of principal offices and departments.

## Section 6

Adds a new chapter to statute creating the Department of Energy and defining its duties which includes developing and administering a statewide energy plan. Mandates that the new department assist in planning and implementing the home energy loan program, rural capital retrofit program, and the energy efficiency and weatherization program.

# Section 7

Moves the Alaska Energy Authority from the Dept. of Commerce, Community & Economic Development to the Department of Energy.

# **Section 8**

Changes how the directors of the Alaska Energy Authority are selected.

# **Section 9**

Changes existing statute regarding powers and rules of the Alaska Energy Authority to conform to the changes made in Section 8.

# **Section 10**

Deletes the existing Home energy conservation and weatherization program from AHFC statutes to conform with the changes made in Section 6.

Bill Version: 26-LS0843\R

Prepared by the House Special Committee on Energy.