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 Who is covered?

State Must be in child restraint Adult safety belt permissible
Maximum fine 1st

offense

Alabama younger than 1 or less than 20 pounds in a rear-facing
infant seat; 1 through 4 years or 20-40 pounds in a
forward-facing child safety seat; 5 but not yet 6 in a booster
seat.

6 through 14 years $251

law states no preference for rear seat

Alaska 3 years and younger 4 through 15 years $501

law states no preference for rear seat

Arizona 4 years and younger not permissible $50

law states no preference for rear seat

Arkansas 5 years and younger and less than 60 pounds 6 through 14 years or 60+ pounds $100

law states no preference for rear seat

California 5 years and younger or less than 60 pounds2 6 through 15 years or 60+ pounds $1001

children 5 years and younger or less than 60 pounds must be in the rear seat2

Colorado younger than 1 year and less than 20 pounds in a
rear-facing infant seat; 1 through 3 years and 20-40
pounds in a forward-facing child safety seat; 4 through 5
years and less than 55 inches in a booster seat3

6 through 15 years or 55 inches or
more

$50

law states no preference for rear seat

Connecticut younger than 1 year or less than 20 pounds in a rear-facing
restraint system; 1 through 6 years who is less than 60
pounds in a child restraint system (booster seats may only
be used in a seating position with a lap and shoulder belt)

7 through 15 years and 60+
pounds4

$604

law states no preference for rear seat

Delaware 7 years and younger and less than 66 pounds5 8 through 15 years or 66+
pounds5

$25

children 11 years and younger and 65 inches or less must be in rear seat if passenger airbag is active5

District of Columbia 7 years and younger 8 through 15 years $751

law states no preference for rear seat

Florida 3 years and younger 4 through 5 years $601

law states no preference for rear seat

Georgia 5 years and younger and 57 inches or less6 more than 57 inches $501

5 years and younger must be in rear seat if available6

Hawaii 3 years and younger in a child safety seat; 4 years through
7 years must be in a booster seat or child restraint

4 through 7 years who are taller
than 4'9"; 4 through 7 years who
are at least 40 pounds seated in a
rear seat where if there are no
available lap/shoulder belts, may
be restrained by a lap belt

$1007
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law states no preference for rear seat

Idaho 6 years and younger not permissible $100

law states no preference for rear seat

Illinois 7 years and younger 8 through 15 years; children who
weigh more than 40 pounds seated
in the rear where only a lap belt is
available

$50

law states no preference for rear seat

Indiana 7 years and younger when driver holds an Indiana license8 8 through 15 years $251

law states no preference for rear seat

Iowa younger than 1 year and less than 20 pounds in a
rear-facing child seat; 1 through 5 years

6 through 10 years $25

law states no preference for rear seat

Kansas all children 3 and younger must be in a child restraint;
children 4 through 7 who weigh less than 80 pounds and
children 4 through 7 who are less than 57 inches tall must
be in a child restraint or booster seat

all children 8 through 13 years;
children 4 through 7 years who
weigh more than 80 pounds, and
children 4 through 7 years who are
taller than 57 inches

$60

law states no preference for rear seat

Kentucky 40 inches or less in a child restraint; 6 and younger who
are between 40 and 50 inches tall in a booster seat

6 and younger who are taller than
50 inches

$50 child restraint;
$30 booster seat

law states no preference for rear seat

Louisiana younger than 1 year or less than 20 pounds in a child
safety seat; 1 through 3 years or 20-39 pounds in a
forward-facing child safety seat; 4 through 5 years or 40-60
pounds in a child booster seat

6 through 12 years or greater than
60 pounds

$100

law states no preference for rear seat

Maine less than 40 pounds in a child safety seat; 40-80 pounds
and less than 8 years in a safety system that elevates the
child so that an adult seat belt fits properly

8 through 17 years or less than 18
years and more than 4'9"

$50

11 years and younger and less than 100 pounds must be in rear seat if available

Maryland 7 years and younger and either less than 57 inches or 65
pounds or less

8 through 15 years; children who
are at least 57 inches or 65
pounds

$25

law states no preference for rear seat

Massachusetts 7 years and younger and less than 57 inches 8 through 12 years; children who
are at least 57 inches tall

$25

law states no preference for rear seat

Michigan 7 years and younger and less than 57 inches 8 through 15 years; children who
are at least 57 inches tall

$10

law states no preference for rear seat

Minnesota 3 years and younger not permissible $50

law states no preference for rear seat

Mississippi 3 years and younger must be in a child restraint; 4 through
6 years and either less than 57 inches or less than 65
pounds must be in a booster seat

6 years and younger who either
weigh 65 pounds or more or who
are 57 inches or taller

$25

law states no preference for rear seat

Child Restraint Laws http://www.iihs.org/laws/childrestraint.aspx

2 of 5 3/3/2009 10:03 AM



Missouri 3 years and younger must be in a child restraint; all
children who weigh less than 40 pounds must be in a CR; 4
through 7 years who weigh at least 40 pounds but less than
80 pounds and who are 4'9" or shorter must be in either a
CR or booster seat; children 4 years and older who weigh
at least 80 pounds or who are at least 4'9" tall must be in
either a booster seat or safety belt

all children 8 through 16 years; all
children 4 years and older who
weigh 80 pounds or more or who
are taller than 4'9"

$50; $10 for
violations involving
children taller than
4'9" or who weigh

80 pounds or more

law states no preference for rear seat

Montana 5 years and and younger and less than 60 pounds not permissible $100

law states no preference for rear seat

Nebraska 5 years and younger 6 through 17 years9 $251

law states no preference for rear seat

Nevada 5 years and younger and 60 pounds or less not permissible $50010

law states no preference for rear seat

New Hampshire 5 years and younger who are less than 55 inches 6 through 17 years; younger than
6 who are at least 55 inches tall

$25

law states no preference for rear seat

New Jersey 7 years and younger and less than 80 pounds not permissible $25

children 7 years and younger and less than 80 pounds must be in the rear seat if available

New Mexico younger than 1 year in a rear-facing infant seat; 1 through
4 years or less than 40 pounds in a child safety seat; 5
through 6 or less than 60 pounds in a booster seat

7 through 17 years $25

children younger than 1 year in a rear-facing infant seat must be in the rear seat if available

New York 3 and younger unless they weigh more than 40 pounds and
are seated where there is no available lap/shoulder belt; 4
through 6 years unless they are seated where there is no
available lap/shoulder belt

7 through 15 years; children who
weigh more than 40 pounds or
children 4 through 6 years in a
seating position where there is no
available lap/shoulder belt

$1001

law states no preference for rear seat

North Carolina 7 years and younger and less than 80 pounds 8 through 15 years + children
40-80 pounds in seats without
shoulder belts

$251

children 4 years and younger who weigh less than 40 pounds must be in the rear seat unless the front passenger airbag
is deactivated or the restraint is designed for use with airbags

North Dakota 6 years and younger and less than 57 inches or less than
80 pounds

7 through 17 years; 6 years and
younger and at least 57 inches tall
and at least 80 pounds; 6 years
and younger and at least 40
pounds, if there are no available
lap/shoulder belts, may be
restrained by a lap belt

$251

law states no preference for rear seat

Ohio 3 years and younger or less than 40 pounds in child
restraint; 4 through 7 years who weigh 40 pounds or more
and who are shorter than 57 inches in booster seat
(effective 10/07/09)

8 through 14 years11 (effective
10/07/09)

$7511 (effective
10/07/09)

law states no preference for rear seat

Oklahoma 5 years and younger12 6 through 12 years $25

law states no preference for rear seat
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Oregon younger than 1 year or 20 pounds or less must be in a rear
facing child safety seat; 40 pounds or less must be in a
child safety seat; more than 40 pounds but 4 feet and 9
inches or less must be in a safety system that elevates the
child so that an adult seat belt fits properly

taller than 4 feet and 9 inches $90

law states no preference for rear seat

Pennsylvania 7 years and younger13 not permissible $100

law states no preference for rear seat

Rhode Island 6 years and younger and less than 54 inches and less than
80 pounds

6 years and younger who either
weigh 80 pounds or more or who
are at least 54 inches tall; 7
through 17

$75

children 6 years and younger must be in rear seat if available

South Carolina younger than 1 year or less than 20 pounds in a rear-facing
infant seat; 1 through 5 years and 20-39 pounds in a
forward-facing child safety seat; 1 through 5 years and
40-80 pounds in a booster seat secured by lap-shoulder
belt (lap belt alone is impermissible)

1 through 5 years and 80+ pounds
or any child 5 years and younger
if the child's knees bend over the
seat edge when sitting up straight
with his/her back firmly against the
seat back

$150

children 5 years and younger must be in rear seat if available

South Dakota 4 years and younger and less than 40 pounds 5 through 17 years; all children
40+ pounds, regardless of age

$20

law states no preference for rear seat

Tennessee younger than 1 year or 20 pounds or less in a rear-facing
infant seat; 1 through 3 years and 20+ pounds in a forward-
facing infant seat; 4 through 8 years and less than 4'9" in a
booster seat

9 through 15 years or any child 12
or younger who is 4'9" or taller

$50

children 8 years and younger and less than 4'9" must be in rear seat if available; rear seat recommended for children 9
through 12

Texas 4 years and younger and less than 36 inches not permissible $200

law states no preference for rear seat

Utah 7 years and younger and shorter than 57 inches 8 through 15 years; all children 57
inches or taller

$45

law states no preference for rear seat

Vermont younger than 1 year or less than 20 pounds in a rear-facing
infant seat; 2 through 7 and more than 20 pounds

8 through 15 years and more than
20 pounds

$25

children 1 year and younger or less than 20 pounds must be in the rear seat unless the front passenger airbag is
deactivated

Virginia 7 years and younger unless they have a physician
exemption14

8-15 years14 $50

children in rear-facing devices must be in a rear seat if available; if not available, they may be placed in front only if front
passenger airbag is deactivated14

Washington 7 years and younger and less than 4'9" 8 through 15; 7 years and younger
and 4'9" or taller; children who
weigh more than 40 pounds in a
seating position where there is only
a lap belt available

$124

12 years and younger must be in rear seat if practical

West Virginia 7 years and younger and less than 4'9" 7 years and younger and 4'9" or
taller

$20

law states no preference for rear seat
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Wisconsin children younger than 1 and all children who weigh less
than 20 pounds are required to be in a rear-facing infant
seat; children 1 through 3 years who weigh at least 20
pounds but less than 40 pounds are required to be in a
forward-facing child safety seat; children 4 through 7 who
both weigh at least 40 pounds but less than 80 pounds and
who are less than 57 inches tall are required to be in a
booster seat

8 years and younger and more
than 80 pounds and 57 inches or
taller

$75

children 3 and younger must be in a rear seat, if available

Wyoming 8 years and younger not permissible $50

children 8 years and younger must be in the rear seat if available

1This state assesses points for violations.

2In California, children weighing more than 40 pounds may be belted without a booster seat if they are seated in the rear seat of a vehicle not equipped with lap/shoulder
belts. The California rear seat requirement does not apply if: there is no rear seat; the rear seats are side-facing jump seats; the rear seats are rear-facing seats; the
child passenger restraint system cannot be installed properly in the rear seat; all rear seats are already occupied by children under 12 years; or medical reasons
necessitate that the child not ride in the rear seat. A child may not ride in the front seat of a motor vehicle with an active pasenger airbag if the child is under 1 year of
age, or weighs less than 20 pounds or is riding in a rear-facing child restraint system.

3In Colorado, if a child 4-5 years and less than 55 inches is being transported in a vehicle equipped with a lap belt only, then the child must be restrained with the lap
belt. The law is secondary for children ages 4-5 years who must be in booster seats.

4The fine in Connecticut is $15 if the child is 4-16 years and 40 pounds or more. Connecticut also requires a mandatory child restraint education program for first or
second violation.

5In Delaware, children younger than 12 years/65 inches or less must be restrained in a rear seat if a vehicle has a passenger airbag unless the airbag has been either
deactivated or designed to accommodate smaller people. Exceptions: no rear seat or rear seat occupied by other children younger than 12 years/65 inches or less.

6In Georgia, children weighing more than 40 pounds are permitted to be restrained in the back seat of a vehicle by a lap belt if the vehicle is not equipped with lap and
shoulder belts or when the lap and shoulder belts are being used by other children who weigh more than 40 pounds.

7Hawaii drivers are charged $50 for a mandatory child restraint education program and a $10 surcharge deposited into a neurotrauma special fund.

8In Indiana, children younger than 8 years must be restrained in adult belts if it's reasonably determined they cannot fit in child restraints. If the driver does not hold an
Indiana driver's license, then children under 16 must be restrained by either a child restraint or a safety belt. Children weighing more than 40 pounds are permitted to be
restrained by a lap belt if the vehicle is not equipped with lap and shoulder belts or if all lap and shoulder belts other than those in the front seat are being used to restrain
other children who are younger than 16.

9Nebraska's law is secondary for those children who may be in safety belts and standard for those who must be in a child restraint device.

10In Nevada, the minimum fine is $100. An alternative to the fine is at least 10 but not more than 50 hours of community service.

11In Ohio, the law is secondary for children 4 through 14 years.

12In Oklahoma, children weighing more than 40 pounds are permitted to be restrained in the back seat of a vehicle by a lap belt if the vehicle is not equipped with lap
and shoulder belts or when the lap and shoulder belts are being used by other children who weigh more than 40 pounds.

13In Pennsylvania, the law is secondary for children ages 4 through 7 years who must be in booster seats.

14In Virginia, children at least 4 years but less than 8 years may be belted if any licensed physician determines that use of a child restraint system by a particular child
would be impractical by reason of the child's weight, physical fitness, or other medical reason, provided that any person transporting a child so exempted shall carry on
his person or in the vehicle a signed written statement of the physician identifying the child so exempted and stating the grounds for the determination.
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