

Founded 1975 Executive Director Jason W. Brune

> Patty Bielawski Allen Bingham

> > Eric Fjelstad Jeff Foley

Stan Foo Paul S. Glavinovich Craig A. Haymes Len Horst

Marilyn Crockett Steve Denton

2008-2009 Executive Committee Rick Rogers, President Wendy Lindskoog, Sr. Vice President Phil Cochrane, Vice President

Stephanie Madsen, Secretary Tom Maloney, Treasurer

John T. Shively, Past President

RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT COUNCIL

Growing Alaska Through Responsible Resource Development

February 20, 2009

Representative Craig Johnson and Representative Mark Neuman, Co-Chairmen House Resources Committee Alaska State Legislature State Capitol Juneau, AK 99801

Re: HJR18, Urging the U.S. Congress to refrain from passing legislation that designates lands in Area 1002 of ANWR as Wilderness

Dear Representative Johnson and Representative Neuman:

On behalf of the Resource Development Council for Alaska, Inc., (RDC), I am writing in support of HJR18, which urges Congress to refrain from passing legislation that designates the 1002 Area of ANWR as Wilderness.

RDC is a statewide, non-profit, membership-funded organization founded in 1975. The RDC membership is comprised of individuals and companies from Alaska's oil and gas, mining, timber, tourism, and fisheries industries, as well as Alaska Native corporations, local communities, organized labor, and industry support firms. RDC's purpose is to link these diverse interests together to encourage a strong, diversified private sector in Alaska and expand the state's economic base through the responsible development of our natural resources.

A Wilderness designation would preclude future action by Congress to provide for environmentally responsible exploration and production of oil and gas resources in ANWR. Federal Wilderness should not be expanded to include the 1002 Area, given the Coastal Plain is considered the nation's most promising onshore oil and gas prospect.

We encourage the Committee to vote in favor of this resolution. Thank you for your consideration.

Sincerely,

JON

Jason Brune Executive Director

Teresa Imm Erec Isaacson Tom Lovas Ethan Schutt Scott Thorson Cam Toohey Directors Greg Baker Jason Bergerson Bob Berto John Binkley Bruce Botelho Frank M. Brown Al Burch Patrick Carter Iames L. Cloud Stephen M. Connelly Bob Cox Paula P. Easley Ella Ede Mark Eliason Joe Everhart Carol Fraser Becky Gay Charles J. Greene Scott Habberstad Mark Hanley Karl Hanneman Rick P Harris Tom Henderson Becky Hultberg Bill Jeffress Mike Jungreis Diane Keller Frank V. Kelty Kip Knudson Thomas G. Krzewinski John MacKinnon David L. Matthews Karen Matthias Mary McDowell Ron McPheters James Merv Denise Michels Lance Miller Iim Palmer Tom Panamaroff Lisa Parker Judy Patrick Debbie Reinwand Elizabeth Rensch Ralph Samuels Keith Sanders Lorna Shaw Kenneth Sheffield Keith N. Silver Tiel Smith Robert Stiles Jeanine St. John John L. Sturgeon Jim Taro John Williams John Zager

Ex-Officio Members Senator Mark Begich Senator Lisa Murkowski Congressman Don Young Governor Sarah Palin