## **HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 13**

# IN THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA TWENTY-SIXTH LEGISLATURE - FIRST SESSION

#### BY THE HOUSE STATE AFFAIRS COMMITTEE

Introduced: 2/2/09

Referred: State Affairs, Judiciary, Finance

# **A RESOLUTION**

- 1 Proposing amendments to the Constitution of the State of Alaska to correct obsolete
- 2 references to the office of secretary of state by substituting references to the office of
- 3 **lieutenant governor.**

## 4 BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA:

- \* Section 1. Article II, sec. 5, Constitution of the State of Alaska, is amended to read:
- Section 5. Disqualifications. No legislator may hold any other office or position of profit under the United States or the State. During the term for which elected and for one year thereafter, no legislator may be nominated, elected, or appointed to any other office or position of profit which has been created, or the salary or emoluments of which have been increased, while he was a member. This section shall not prevent any person from seeking or holding the office of governor, lieutenant governor [SECRETARY OF STATE], or member of Congress. This
- section shall not apply to employment by or election to a constitutional convention.
- \* Sec. 2. Article III, sec. 25, Constitution of the State of Alaska, is amended to read:
- 15 Section 25. Department Heads. The head of each principal department shall

1	be a single executive unless otherwise provided by law. He shall be appointed by the
2	governor, subject to confirmation by a majority of the members of the legislature in
3	joint session, and shall serve at the pleasure of the governor, except as otherwise
4	provided in this article with respect to the lieutenant governor [SECRETARY OF
5	STATE]. The heads of all principal departments shall be citizens of the United States.
6	* Sec. 3. The amendments proposed by this resolution shall be placed before the voters of
7	the state at the next general election in conformity with art. XIII, sec. 1, Constitution of the
8	State of Alaska, and the election laws of the state.