Legislature(2003 - 2004)

02/11/2004 12:07 PM RES

Audio Topic
* first hearing in first committee of referral
+ teleconferenced
= bill was previously heard/scheduled
                     ALASKA STATE LEGISLATURE                                                                                 
       JOINT SENATE AND HOUSE RESOURCES STANDING COMMITTEES                                                                   
                        February 11, 2004                                                                                       
                            12:07 p.m.                                                                                          
TAPE(S) 04-7, 8                                                                                                               
SENATE MEMBERS PRESENT                                                                                                        
Senator Scott Ogan, Chair                                                                                                       
Senator Thomas Wagoner, Vice Chair                                                                                              
Senator Fred Dyson                                                                                                              
Senator Georgianna Lincoln                                                                                                      
SENATE MEMBERS ABSENT                                                                                                         
Senator Ralph Seekins                                                                                                           
Senator Ben Stevens                                                                                                             
Senator Kim Elton                                                                                                               
HOUSE MEMBERS PRESENT                                                                                                         
Representative Nancy Dahlstrom, Co-Chair                                                                                        
Representative Beverly Masek, Co-Chair                                                                                          
Representative Cheryll Heinze, Vice Chair                                                                                       
Representative Carl Gatto                                                                                                       
Representative Bob Lynn                                                                                                         
HOUSE MEMBERS ABSENT                                                                                                          
Representative Nick Stepovich                                                                                                   
Representative Kelly Wolf                                                                                                       
Representative Beth Kerttula                                                                                                    
Representative David Guttenberg                                                                                                 
OTHER MEMBERS PRESENT                                                                                                         
Representative Harry Crawford                                                                                                   
Representative Peggy Wilson                                                                                                     
COMMITTEE CALENDAR                                                                                                            
^OVERVIEW: Mining Industry                                                                                                    
SUMMARY OF INFORMATION                                                                                                        
CHAIR SCOTT  OGAN convened  the meeting of  the Joint  Senate and                                                             
House Resources Standing Committee meeting  at 12:07 p.m. He said                                                               
the agenda today is the annual mining industry briefing.                                                                        
MR. STEVE BORELL, Executive  Director, Alaska Miners Association,                                                               
delivered  opening  comments.   The  following  people  presented                                                               
company updates to the committee:                                                                                               
Development and Exploration Projects                                                                                          
MR. KARL HANNEMAN, Pogo Mines                                                                                                   
MR. RICK RICHINS, Kensington Mines                                                                                              
MR. DOUG NICHOLSON, Rock Creek, Nova Gold                                                                                       
MR. GREGG BUSH, Donlin Creek, Nova Gold                                                                                         
MR. BRUCE YOUNGMAN, Pebble                                                                                                      
Operating Mines                                                                                                               
MS.  LORNA SHAW,  Fairbanks Gold  Mining Inc.,  Fort Knox  & True                                                               
MR. RICH HEIG, Greens Creek                                                                                                     
MR. KARL HANNEMAN, Red Dog                                                                                                      
MR. STEVE DENTON, Usibelli Coal Mine                                                                                            
CHAIR OGAN adjourned the meeting at 2:07 p.m.                                                                                   
NOTE:   The meeting was  recorded and handwritten log  notes were                                                               
taken.  A  copy of the tape(s)  and log notes may  be obtained by                                                               
contacting the  Senate Records Office  at State Capitol,  Room 3,                                                               
Juneau,  Alaska  99801  (mailing address),  (907)  465-2870,  and                                                               
after  adjournment  of the  second  session  of the  Twenty-Third                                                               
Alaska  State Legislature  this  information may  be obtained  by                                                               
contacting the Legislative Reference Library at (907) 465-3808.                                                                 

Document Name Date/Time Subjects